8 good tips for strengthening the immune system

The winter time is a test of our immune system. Cold viruses are lurking everywhere and want to paralyze our natural defense mechanism. Our immune system must therefore be well prepared. But how can the defenses be strengthened? We present 8 good and simple tips.

Why is the immune system important?

The immune system is our body's own defence mechanism, which is made up of a complex network of organs and tissues. The most important organs include the thymus, bone marrow, lymphatic system, spleen, intestine, mucous membranes, skin and special immune cells. If all organs and tissues are healthy and function smoothly, the immune system works without failures. We are rarely ill and feel fit and vital.

Our immune system must protect us continuously, because we are constantly surrounded by pathogens, be they viruses, fungi or bacteria. They constantly try to penetrate our defence system and cause damage. Pathogens that have made it into our bodies first hit the front line: the non-specific defence system that is innate to all of us. It strikes immediately and can destroy pathogens within a few hours.

In the second step, the specific defence is activated, which is directed specifically against the pathogen causing the infection. For this reason, it takes longer than the unspecific immune system. It works with special defence substances, the antibodies, and produces precisely tailored substances that immobilise the pathogen.[1]

Signs of a weakened immune system

Various factors can contribute to our immune system becoming unstable and more vulnerable to viruses, fungi and other pathogens. Stress, lack of sleep and an unbalanced diet play a major role in this. They put an additional strain on our immune system and in doing so, weaken our defences. While we sleep, information about germs collected during the day is stored in the immune system's long-term memory.

Poor nutrition can also weaken the immune system. For example, saturated fats promote inflammatory processes and can hinder the fight against real pathogens. Unhealthy food also leads to supply deficits in the organism, which puts a permanent strain on the immune system.

How do I strengthen the immune system?

Fortunately, every person can contribute to strengthening their immune system themselves. Most tips are easy to implement. Read here how to support your immune system!

Strengthen your immune system with colourful vegetables

Tip 1: Get more sleep

Sleep is the best medicine. A group of researchers led by Tanja Lange from the University of Lübeck did a study on how sleep affects the immune system. The researchers were able to prove that the hormone constellation during sleep promotes the development of the (acquired) immune system and immune memory. The night-time rest therefore supports the work of certain defence mechanisms, with the help of which our immune system builds up a protective barrier against pathogens. How much sleep a person needs depends on various factors. Find out your optimal sleep duration and sleep healthy!

Tip 2: Less stress

Prolonged stress can severely affect our immune system and weaken the non-specific (innate) as well as specific immune defences. The immune system produces fewer immune cells and can hardly defend itself against pathogens. Yoga or meditation should bring relief from long-term stress. Just try it out!

Tip 3: More exercise

Best in the fresh air. During physical exertion a lot of adrenalin is produced. The hormone causes the immune cells to multiply faster. People who exercise regularly are therefore less likely to be ill. In addition, during exercise hormones like endorphins and serotonin are produced, which neutralise stress hormones. This reduces stress. Spend your next evening in the fresh air, your immune system will thank you for it!

Tip 4: Balanced diet

A well-functioning immune system needs many different vitamins and nutrients. These include vitamins A, B, C, D, E. The nutrients the body needs are zinc, iron, copper, selenium. Most of these substances can be taken in through food. Broccoli, cabbage, tomatoes, spinach, garlic, citrus fruits, nuts, carrots, turmeric are particularly good. The rule of thumb is: eat colourful and seasonal food. Asparagus in spring, melon in summer, pumpkin in autumn.

Tip 5: B-group vitamins

B6 balances the specific immune defences and is found in meat and fish products and vegetables. B12 is responsible for blood formation and normal functioning of the immune system and is only found in foods of animal origin, meat, dairy products and fish.

Tip 6: Secondary plant substances

According to current knowledge, they are not among the essential nutrients for humans. Nevertheless, they are said to have various health-promoting effects, even reducing the risk of cancer and cardiovascular disease. They are found mainly in fruit, vegetables, pulses, nuts, wholemeal products and potatoes. For this reason, the German Society for Nutrition recommends eating lots of fruit and vegetables. Carotenoids, flavonoids, glucosinolates, phytoestrogens, saponins and sulphides can be found in the following vegetables and fruits carrot, pumpkin, paprika, apple, kale, pear, onion, garlic, etc.

Tip 7: Other natural substances

Like propolis[2], Echinacea[3], glycosinolates[4], sulphides[5] or flavonoids[6] are also extremely important for strengthening the immune system. Studies also show the antiviral potential of these substances.

Tip 8: Food supplements

People who do not eat enough fruit and vegetables may be deficient in nutrients. For them, it might make sense to take food supplements to strengthen their immune system.

You might like this:

Our product UltraImmun strengthens your immune system against every challenge of everyday life! The high-dose protein portion consists of tissue-specific signal molecules (cell peptides) from cellular research.

UltraImmun's production incorporates the latest findings of our team of experts in cell research.  With our unique CARE®-Technology you maximise cell renewal for a strong immune system and more protection. For optimal tolerance and absorption of the ingredients in your body, we pay attention to naturalness and high bioavailability.

  • High bioavailability thanks to signal molecules (cell peptides) from cell research
  • The contained vitamin C contributes to a natural function of the immune system
  • Thiamine (Vit B1) contributes to a normal energy metabolism
  • Pantothenic acid (Vit. H) helps to reduce fatigue and premature exhaustion.

[1] https://www.gesundheitsinformation.de/das-angeborene-und-das-erworbene-immunsystem.2255.de.html, aufgerufen am 30.10.2020. 

[2] Berretta et al. Propolis and its potential against SARS-CoV-2 infection mechanisms and COVID-19 disease. Biomed Pharmacoth 2020;131:110622

[3] Signer et al. In Vitro virucidal activity of Echinaforce, an Echinacea purpurea, against coronavirus, including common cold coronavirus 229E and SARS-CoV-2. Virol J 2020;17:136

[4] Ivanciuc et al. Hydrogen Sulfide Is an Antiviral and Antiinflammatory Endogenous Gasotrans-mitter in the Airways Role in Respiratory Syncytial Virus Infection. American Journal of Respiratory Cell and Molecular Biology. Am J Respir Cell Mol Biol 2017;57(4): 403–410.

[5]Nie et al. Antiviral activity of Isatidis Radix derived glucosinolate isomers and their products against influenza A in vitro/ovo and mechanism of action. J Ethnopharmacol 2020;251:2-8

[6] Melrose J. The Glucosinolates: A Sulphur Glucoside Family of Mustard Anti-Tumour and Anti-microbial Phytochemicals of Potential Therapeutic Application. Biomedicines 2019; 7:62:1-28


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More
Articles

en_GBEnglish (UK)

8 gute Tipps zur Stärkung des Immunsystems

Die Winterzeit ist eine Belastungsprobe für unser Immunsystem. Überall lauern Erkältungsviren, die unseren natürlichen Abwehrmechanismus lahmlegen wollen. Unser Immunsystem muss also gut gewappnet sein. Nur wie können die Abwehrkräfte gestärkt werden? Wir stellen Ihnen 8 gute und einfache Tipps vor.

Warum ist das Immunsystem wichtig?

Das Immunsystem ist unser körpereigener Abwehrmechanismus, der sich aus einem komplexen Netzwerk aus Organen und Geweben zusammensetzt. Zu den wichtigsten Organen gehören der Thymus, das Knochenmark, das Lymphsystem, die Milz, der Darm, die Schleimhäute, die Haut sowie spezielle Immunzellen. Wenn alle Organe und Gewebe gesund sind und reibungslos funktionieren, arbeitet das Immunsystem ohne Ausfälle. Wir sind selten krank und fühlen uns fit und vital.

Unsere Abwehrkräfte müssen uns pausenlos schützen, denn wir sind ständig von Krankheitserregern umgeben, sei es Viren, Pilze oder Bakterien. Diese versuchen dauernd, durch unser Abwehrsystem durchzudringen und dort Schaden anzurichten. Erreger, die es in unseren Körper geschafft haben, treffen zuerst auf die vorderste Front: die uns allen angeborene unspezifische Abwehr. Diese schlägt sofort zu und kann innerhalb weniger Stunden Krankheitserreger zerstören.

Im zweiten Schritt schaltet sich die spezifische Abwehr ein, die sich speziell gegen den die Infektion verursachten Erreger richtet. Aus diesem Grund braucht sie länger, als das unspezifische Immunsystem. Sie arbeitet mit speziellen Abwehrstoffen, den Antikörpern, und produziert passgenaue Stoffe, die den Erreger unbeweglich machen.[1]

Anzeichen eines geschwächten Immunsystems

Verschiedene Faktoren können dazu beitragen, dass unser Immunsystem ins Schwanken gerät und anfälliger für Viren, Pilze sowie andere Krankheitserreger wird. Stress, Schlafmangel und eine unausgewogene Ernährung spielen dabei eine wesentliche Rolle. Sie belasten unser Immunsystem zusätzlich und zehren dabei an den Abwehrkräften. Im Schlaf werden tagsüber gesammelte Daten über Krankheitskeime im Langzeitspeicher des Immunsystems abgespeichert.

Schlechte Ernährung kann das Immunsystem ebenfalls schwächen. Beispielsweise fördern gesättigte Fette Entzündungsprozesse und können die Bekämpfung echter Krankheitserreger behindern. Ungesundes Essen führt ebenfalls zu Versorgungsdefiziten im Organismus, was das Immunsystem auf Dauer belastet.

Wie stärke ich die Abwehrkräfte?

Erfreulicherweise kann jeder Mensch zur Stärkung seines Immunsystems selbst beitragen. Die meisten Tipps sind einfach umzusetzen. Lesen Sie hier, wie Sie ihre Abwehrkräfte unterstützen!

Immunsystem stärken mit buntem Gemüse

Tipp 1: Mehr Schlaf

Schlaf ist die beste Medizin. Eine Gruppe von Wissenschaftlern um Tanja Lange von der Universität Lübeck untersuchte in einer Studie, wie Schlaf sich auf das Immunsystem auswirkt. Die Forscher konnten beweisen, dass die Hormonkonstellation während des Schlafens die Ausbildung des (erworbenen) Immunsystems und die Immungedächtnisbildung fördert. Die nächtliche Ruhe unterstützt demnach die Arbeit bestimmter Abwehrmechanismen, mit deren Hilfe unser Immunsystem eine Schutzbarriere gegen Krankheitserreger aufbaut. Wieviel Schlaf der Mensch braucht, hängt von verschiedenen Faktoren ab. Finden Sie Ihre optimale Schlafdauer heraus und schlafen Sie sich gesund!

Tipp 2: Weniger Stress

Langanhaltender Stress kann unser Immunsystem enorm beeinträchtigen und die unspezifische (angeborene) sowie spezifische Immunabwehr schwächen. Das Immunsystem produziert weniger Immunzellen und kann sich nur schwer gegen Krankheitserreger wehren. Yoga oder Meditation sollen bei Dauerstress Erleichterung bringen. Einfach ausprobieren!

Tipp 3: Mehr Bewegung

Am besten an der frischen Luft. Bei körperlicher Belastung wird reichlich Adrenalin produziert. Das Hormon bewegt die Immunzellen dazu, sich schneller zu vermehren. Diejenigen, die regelmäßig Sport machen, sind deswegen seltener krank. Darüber hinaus werden während der Bewegung Hormone Endorphine und Serotonin produziert, die Stresshormone neutralisieren. Dies mildert Stress. Verbringen Sie Ihren nächsten Feierabend an der frischen Luft, Ihr Immunsystem wird es Ihnen danken!

Tipp 4: Ausgewogene Ernährung.

Ein gut funktionierendes Immunsystem braucht viele verschiedene Vitamine und Nährstoffe. Dazu zählen Vitamine A, B, C, D, E. Nährstoffe, die der Körper braucht, sind: Zink, Eisen, Kupfer, Selen. Die meisten dieser Stoffe können über die Nahrung aufgenommen werden. Besonders gut sind Brokkoli, Kohl, Tomaten, Spinat, Knoblauch, Zitrusfrüchte, Nüsse, Karotten, Kurkuma. Die Faustregel lautet: bunt und saisonal essen. Spargel im Frühling, Melone im Sommer, Kürbis im Herbst.

Tipp 5: Vitamine der B-Gruppe

B6 bringt die spezifische Immunabwehr ins Gleichgewicht und kommt in Fleisch- und Fischprodukten sowie in Gemüse vor. B12 ist für die Blutbildung und eine normale Funktion des Immunsystems verantwortlich und ist ausschließlich in Lebensmitteln tierischen Ursprungs, Fleisch, Milchprodukten und Fisch zu finden.

Tipp 6: Sekundäre Pflanzenstoffe

Nach bisherigen Erkenntnissen zählen sie nicht zu den essentiellen Nährstoffen für den Menschen. Nichtsdestotrotz sollen sie verschiedene gesundheitsfördernde Wirkungen aufweisen, sogar das Risiko für Krebs und Herz-Kreislauf-Krankheiten senken. Sie sind vor allem in Obst, Gemüse, Hülsenfrüchten, Nüssen, Vollkornprodukten und Kartoffeln zu finden. Aus diesem Grund empfiehlt die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Ernährung viel Obst und Gemüse zu essen. Carotinoide, Flavonoide, Glucosinolate, Phytoöstrogene, Saponine und Sulfide sind in folgenden Gemüse- und Obstsorten zu finden: Karotte, Kürbis, Paprika, Apfel, Grünkohl, Birne, Zwiebel, Knoblauch etc.

Tipp 7: Weitere Naturstoffe

Wie Propolis[2], Echinacea[3], Glycosinolate[4], Sulfide[5] oder Flavonoide[6] sind ebenfalls für die Stärkung des Immunsystems enorm wichtig. Studien belegen außerdem das antivirale Potential dieser Stoffe.

Tipp 8: Nahrungsergänzungsmittel

Menschen, die zu wenig Obst und Gemüse verzehren, könnten einen Nährstoffmangel aufweisen. Für sie kann es sinnvoll sein, Nahrungsergänzungsmittel zu nehmen, um das Immunsystem zu stärken.

Das könnte Ihnen gefallen:

Unser Präparat UltraImmun wappnet Ihr Immunsystem gegen jede Herausforderung des Alltags! Der hochdosierte Proteinanteil besteht aus gewebespezifischen Signalmolekülen (Zellpeptiden) aus der Zellforschung.

In die Produktion von UltraImmun fließen die neuesten Erkenntnisse unseres Expertenteams in Sachen Zellforschung ein.  Mit unserer einzigartigen CARE®-Technologie maximieren Sie die Zellerneuerung für ein starkes Immunsystem und mehr Schutz. Für eine optimale Verträglichkeit und Aufnahme der Inhaltsstoffe in Ihrem Körper achten wir auf Natürlichkeit und eine hohe Bioverfügbarkeit.

  • Hohe Bioverfügbarkeit dank Signalmolekülen (Zellpeptide) aus der Zellforschung
  • Das enthaltene Vitamin C trägt zu einer normalisierenden Funktion des Immunsystems bei
  • Thiamin (Vit B1) leistet seinen Beitrag zu einem normalen Energiestoffwechsel
  • Pantothensäure (Vit. H) trägt zur Verringerung von Müdigkeit und vorzeitiger Ermüdung bei

[1] https://www.gesundheitsinformation.de/das-angeborene-und-das-erworbene-immunsystem.2255.de.html, aufgerufen am 30.10.2020. 

[2] Berretta et al. Propolis and its potential against SARS-CoV-2 infection mechanisms and COVID-19 disease. Biomed Pharmacoth 2020;131:110622

[3] Signer et al. In Vitro virucidal activity of Echinaforce, an Echinacea purpurea, against coronavirus, including common cold coronavirus 229E and SARS-CoV-2. Virol J 2020;17:136

[4] Ivanciuc et al. Hydrogen Sulfide Is an Antiviral and Antiinflammatory Endogenous Gasotrans-mitter in the Airways Role in Respiratory Syncytial Virus Infection. American Journal of Respiratory Cell and Molecular Biology. Am J Respir Cell Mol Biol 2017;57(4): 403–410.

[5]Nie et al. Antiviral activity of Isatidis Radix derived glucosinolate isomers and their products against influenza A in vitro/ovo and mechanism of action. J Ethnopharmacol 2020;251:2-8

[6] Melrose J. The Glucosinolates: A Sulphur Glucoside Family of Mustard Anti-Tumour and Anti-microbial Phytochemicals of Potential Therapeutic Application. Biomedicines 2019; 7:62:1-28


Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Mehr
Artikel

de_DEDeutsch